HRT Paratransit Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee was formed in 2002 and provides a communication link between the TDCHR, persons with disabilities who use or may use its services, and service providers to the disabled community on matters related to Paratransit service within HRT’s service area.

For more information on membership and responsibilities, please click here for Committee Guidelines.

Large print copy of Committee Guidelines.

Paratransit Advisory Commitee Membership
City Classification Name
Chesapeake Consumer Thomas Bryan
Chesapeake Consumer Jackie Connor
Chesapeake Provider Dawn Brantley
Hampton Consumer Patricia Brown
Hampton Consumer Open
Hampton Provider Sue Merryfield
Newport News Consumer Alicia Griffin
Newport News Consumer Donald Fennell
Newport News Provider Sabrina Newman
Extra NN Consumer Troy Bowser
Norfolk Consumer Margaret Cary
Norfolk Consumer Open
Norfolk Provider Helen Brown
Portsmouth Consumer Ina Kreps
Portsmouth Consumer Open
Portsmouth Provider Deborah Holliday
Virginia Beach Consumer Nancy Smith
Virginia Beach Consumer Mary Mathena
Virginia Beach Provider Joe Carvalho
Virginia Beach Consumer Heather Hornsby
TDCHR Liaison  Ex-Officio Joe Paulus
TDCHR Liaison  Commissioner Robert Harper
HRT  Liaison Keith Johnson

**A “consumer” is an individual, or parent, guardian or caregiver of an individual, with a disability who is certified eligible for ADA paratransit services and has been using the paratransit services of the Commission during the past six months.

**A “provider” is an agency, organization, member jurisdiction, or company that has been providing services to persons with disabilities during the past six months.

To contact a Committee Member: E-mail and specify the Committee Member by name.

Upcoming Meetings

  • February 11, 2015, 509 E. 18th St., Norfolk, 1 p.m.
  • April 8, 2015, 3400 Victoria Blvd., Hampton, 1 p.m.
  • June 10, 2015, 509 E. 18th St., Norfolk, 1 p.m.
  • August 12, 2015, 3400 Victoria Blvd., Hampton, 1 p.m.
  • October 14, 2015, 509 E. 18th St., Norfolk, 1 p.m.
  • December 9, 2015, 3400 Victoria Blvd., Hampton, 1 p.m.
Subcommittee meeting begins at 12:00 p.m.; Regular Meeting begins at 1:00 p.m.

Here is the agenda for the August meeting:

For more information, please call (757) 222-6087 or e-mail us at

For alternative communication services, please contact Keith Johnson at 222-6100.